By Rachel

So we have been in India for two days now. In that time, we’ve established our daily routine at my parent’s house: eat breakfast, watch my aunts and uncles play 29 (an Indian card game), go for a walk or bike ride, eat lunch, run some type of errand with the driver, play phase 10 with my cousins, walk around some more – watch people play cricket (my brother) … basically, we’re just bumming around and biding our time right now.

We taught our cousins to play Phase 10. In the background, my aunts and Beiji are cutting vegetables. It’s cold in Delhi right now so everyone sits outside to drink in the sun. 

Cauliflower growing in our parent’s garden

Tomorrow is our India wedding reception which is why our house is currently full of relatives (which I’m probably being rude right now blogging right now but whatevs). And my friend Reena from Houston is here too! I keep introducing her as my friend from Houston who is Gujarati and doesn’t speak Hindi (not sure how much she appreciates that!). Part of the wedding prep here has been making a BUNCH of sweets fresh – so we have a “halvai” at the house next door where they are making massive amounts of sweets – today, we bought 35 litres of milk, 15 kgs of sesame seeds, I don’t even want to know how many carrots!

Making gajar ki halwa (dessert made of carrots and sugar and butter!)

              

Tomorrow will be hectic with a havan (prayer service) in Samir and I’s honor as well as our reception at night. After months of wedding planning, it’s weird to not have been part of any of the planning for tomorrow’s reception. Samir and Reena keep asking me what the deal is for tomorrow and I just say that I’m showing up and doing as I’m told 🙂 So simple! This is why you get a wedding planner!

After the reception, we’ll head to Ghaziabad to meet Samir’s family and then head off by ourselves for the first time to Kerala. Maybe then it will hit me that I’ve actually quit my job and am just chillin’ for the next several months. Right now, it just feels like I’m on vacation in India, hanging out with the family and being super spoiled – when you have a reasonable amount of money in India, you generally have a driver, a cook, a couple maids and other staff. It’ll be interesting when reality sets in and we’re actually on our own and having to watch our budget and being responsible for each other! My brother summed it up best this morning as my aunt gave me a freshly cut bowl of pomegranite seeds – ‘don’t get too used to this – it’s a far way from having to wash your clothes in your own sink!’

